LANESVILLE COMMUNITY SCHOOL

BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING

January 10, 2023

The monthly meeting of the Lanesville Community School Board of Trustees was held January 10, 2023 at the high school cafeteria, 2725 Crestview Avenue, NE, Lanesville Indiana. The meeting was called to order at 7:20 p.m. by board president, Sharon Rothrock.

The first item on the agenda was the election of officers for 2023. Jaycen Abell nominated Robert Schickel for president, Sharon Rothrock nominated Jaycen Abell for Vice President, and Robert Schickel nominated Sharon Rothrock as board Secretary. Sharon Rothrock motioned to accept all nominations. Robert Schickel seconded the motion. Motion passed. 5-0. The officers for 2023 are as follows:

Robert Schickel, President Jaycen Abell, Vice President Sharon Rothrock, Secretary Tara Smith, Member Ryan Lind, Member Steve Morris, Superintendent

Rebecca Stilger, notary public, issued the Oath of Office to our new board members, Ryan Lind and Tara Smith.

The school board, upon the recommendation of Steve Morris, appointed Penny Schmelz as Corporation Treasurer, Rita Brewington as Deputy Treasurer and Becky Stilger as executive secretary for the 2023-2024 school year. Sharon Rothrock made the motion to accept and Jaycen Abell seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0.

Jaycen Abell made the motion to approve the minutes from the December 20, 2022 and January 5, 2023 board meetings and the claims for January. Tara Smith seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0.

Mr. Morris read aloud the Press Release dated January 10, 2023 regarding recent allegation of misconduct concerning student behavior with the Boys Basketball program.

Jeff Smitley, Elementary Principal stated that he had no report at this time.

Ryan Apple, Jr/Sr High Principal stated that he had no report at this time.

Steve Morris proceeded with the Superintendent's report.

Mr. Morris began by inviting all the board members to the next building corporation meeting, which is January 13th at 5:00 pm.

Mr. Morris said that over the last several years we have had an anonymous donations to clear the negative balances in our students' cafeteria accounts. This year, the donation was \$750.00 to clear these outstanding debts.

Mr. Morris said girls' basketball sectional will be the first week of February. Lanesville Varsity girls are ranked second in the state in our class. He invited everyone attending the meeting to go watch our girls in action against Trinity Lutheran, who is ranked number 4 in the state, which is taking place in our HS gym this evening.

Mr. Morris discussed the legislature is in session and that this is a budget year. He stated that this budget would have a two-year impact on school funding.

This concluded his report

Robert Schickel opened the floor to public comments. Mr. Morris outlined the school's public participation policy and limited each speaker to three minutes. Matthew Beckman was the only speaker that participated.

Mr. Morris made the recommendation to approve the resignation of Kaycee Peterson as Kindergarten teacher. Sharon Rothrock made a motion to approve the resignation and Jaycen Abell seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0.

Mr. Morris made the recommendation to approve the resignation of Mikel Miller as varsity boys' basketball coach at the end of the 2023 season. Jaycen Abell made a motion to approve and Ryan Lind seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0.

Sharon Rothrock made the motion to approve the following fundraisers:

- Lanesville Lady Eagles basketball team raffle for a cooler and other prizes to raise money for breast cancer research
- Lanesville PTSO silent auction

Tara Smith seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0.

With no further business, Robert Schickel made the motion to adjourn the meeting. Jaycen Abell seconded the motion. Motion passed 5-0 The meeting was adjourned at 7:48 p.m.

Robert Schickel, President

Sharon Rothrock, Secretary